All start with a B

My favorite bands all start with ‘B’: Ben Folds, BNL and Baylor ShowTime!

Being in a collegiate ensemble was a defining experience of my life.  I was able to make music with people my own age, some of whom are still my greatest friends.  We sang great American classics (and danced to them too).  We sang across the pond (even in an Austrian prison).  I snagged the drummer.  I learned how to work on a team.

I learned how humbling it can be to sing one note of a chord in an a capella arrangement and understand with piercing clarity why God gave the earth ears and tones.  God’s creation should be unfathomable, but there are moments in making music where you are sure you understand.

I remember the first time I heard Ben Folds.  I was in Travis’ car.  I followed his music ever since.  It’s hard to be a Ben Folds fan.  He’s not “pop,” so you don’t get to hear him on the radio, and all his other fans are smarter than you.

I was not impressed with Ben’s Last CD or EP.  Ben’s albums before Way to Normal and Sunny D changed my view of music, so I was disappointed that those albums left me underwhelmed.  Just when I thought I had lost my connection to Ben, he released University A Capella.

Ben’s favorites, sung by university a capella groups.  Young, smooth, tuned voices.  Dynamic, musical.  I don’t know why I am writing a blog post, because words can not describe where these sounds take you.

Personally, my music worlds collided, and it is dripping with awesome.  Thank you, Ben.

What do you all think of the album?

  1. #1 by b on April 30, 2009 - 11:44 pm

    fun stuff. what did your friend that you gave the Ben Folds mix ever end up thinking?

  2. #2 by Ward on May 4, 2009 - 4:22 am

    Way to Normal has some decent tracks on it. I thought all three of the photography EPs were pretty decent, though. And Songs for Silverman came out since the EPs (also, Sunny D: not one of the three).

    Anyway, as per my tweet, I think the a capella album is a bit much. The novelty of voices covering various instrumental parts is interesting but I can see it wearing off more quickly. I think the tracks that try to adapt the songs themselves rather than slavishly recreating the recordings come off best.

    I wish the time that Ben put into this had been put into a live album of his orchestral performances instead 🙂

  3. #3 by hilstreet on May 4, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    Good call on the orchestral one – that would be a great CD!

Leave a Reply

