Goodbye, Downtown!

Special Commentary by Husbanks

Editor’s note: Monday, Husbanks’ office moves to the north side of Austin.  His new commute will be five minutes.

I dedicate this post to those men and women that wake up extra early, pour coffee in to-go cups, kiss their kids goodbye, and then head to work downtown. They come in all shapes and sizes. They are young and they are old. Some of them work for the government. Some of them work in the private sector. However, they all share one thing: they’ve been in my way during my drive to work for the past three years. Suck it, people who work downtown. You can’t get in my way anymore.

Actually, I’m not bitter. How could I be bitter? I got the chance to work in downtown Austin for three wonderful years. I will miss it. What I won’t miss is the 45 commute. Hil Street readers, I just got an extra hour and a half of free time each workday. Man, that’s liberating. God willing, I will use the extra time to better myself…by sleeping more.

Here are some pictures from my last morning commute. Notice all the other downtowners in my way.

100_2694

100_2697

  1. #1 by tarathronson on March 15, 2009 - 10:39 pm

    Congrats Husbanks! Will the Marchbanks soon have matching commuter bikes?

  2. #2 by hilstreet on March 25, 2009 - 3:16 am

    For the record: Husbanks went three days without saying “I was listening to NPR and …”

    That used to be his mantra.

    Now that you are not listening to NPR for an hour-and-a-half everyday, where will you get your information?

Leave a Reply

