“I broke down”

A couple weeks ago, I drove to OKC to visit my mother.  Ellie and I were emailing that day when she causally mentioned she was in Oklahoma.  What?  We talk every week.  How did we miss this very important scheduling topic? 

What on earth do we talk about, Ellie?

Anyway, it was a great surprise to get to see Ellie that weekend.  She is so happy and glowing and cute.  Carrying a baby (feels big as a basketball, Ellie says) suits her well.

ellieEllie at 23 weeks

This week, I received an email from Ellie with the above subject line: “I broke down”.

My thoughts: She and Will found out the sex of the baby!  Or, Ellie drove herself to Two Blue Peas in Nashville, showed up at Sarah’s door and bought thousands of onesies! 

No, no.  Ellie purchased Crocs.  She needed something comfortable to let her feet breathe because, as I witnessed, Ellie is very pregnant. 

Hil Street Fashion Assessment*:At least they are wedges – much cuter than the full Crocs.  The title claims ” These Open Toe Wedge Heels Give Your Feet Comfort with Sass!”  Ellie, you already have lots of sass.  I am glad that your feet do now too!

*Ellie has promised not to be swayed by mom jeans or fanny packs.

You go girl!  You wear sensible shoes!

  1. #1 by Steph Brown on March 13, 2009 - 12:19 am

    I think we will have to have an intervention if Ellie becomes swayed by fanny packs! 🙂

  2. #2 by Ellie on March 13, 2009 - 1:32 pm

    But they are so convenient…they keep both of your hands free…
    JUST KIDDING!
    I am so ashamed that I got Crocs. It was a moment of desperation. I just can’t get comfortable.

  3. #3 by Steph Brown on March 13, 2009 - 2:01 pm

    Ellie, you should talk to Sukow – she has a couple pairs of Crocs I believe. She loves them, especially for college fairs at high schools where she is on her feet the whole time.

Leave a Reply

