An open letter to coffee

Ash Wednesday, 2009

Dear Coffee,

Well, it’s Lent again and time to say ‘goodbye.’  This marks my third year to wander through the wilderness without you.  Your magic pixie dust of ground beans that give me something to look forward to every morning (and mid-morning, and mid-afternoon …) is something that will be just a dream for the next 40 days.  I love you, Coffee, and I look forward to our rendezvous in April.  Meet me at the kitchen coffee maker at 6:00 a.m. sharp on Sunday, April 12.  I think I want Kona coffee, can you do that?  That’s how I will remember you.

Love always,

Hil

  1. #1 by Suz on February 25, 2009 - 2:55 pm

    Did you and coffee share one last moment together last evening? Chocolate and I did… It’s going to be a tough 40 days!

  2. #2 by French Friend for Life on February 25, 2009 - 3:59 pm

    Coffee is a tough one to give up. I’m trying out the veggie life and giving up meat for 40 days – wish me luck!

  3. #3 by Ellie on February 26, 2009 - 9:03 pm

    Good luck, Hil!!

    I gave up alcohol and roller coasters. It’s been tough, but I think I am going to make it.

  4. #4 by hilstreet on February 27, 2009 - 3:38 am

    LOL – You are a strong woman, Ellie. I think you should also give up smoking, tight pants, Accutane, and soft cheeses.

  5. #5 by Lacy on February 27, 2009 - 4:15 pm

    I need some more details. Is decaf out too? Do you have one day a week where you can cheat? (Aaron says each Sunday is a “Little Easter”) I think you’re going to do great!

Leave a comment