Sweeter with age

I have a 90-year-old friend that I met at church.  She doesn’t drive very often, so if I want to see her, I go to her place.  She lives in a retirement community.  Her gentleman friend is very popular around the community because he is a writer.  He is the resident poet, actually.  Here is a poem he wrote for her – she was sweet enough to let me have a copy.

Mellow Evenings
My lady love and I
are both ninety.
She gives me
a sweet kiss
when I come in.
We play cards
listen to music,
watch Sixty Minutes
and Classic Arts,
sit quietly
holding hands
and chatting.
Then a hug
and I’m off,
early to bed
smiling.

  1. #1 by Steph Brown on February 24, 2009 - 2:25 pm

    That is the sweetest thing ever!

  2. #2 by Weslie on February 24, 2009 - 7:20 pm

    This is what I aspire to. So sweet.

  3. #3 by Becky on February 28, 2009 - 4:06 pm

    That’s so sweet! I think I need to commission Phil to write some poetry for me! (:

  4. #4 by tierd on March 4, 2009 - 5:08 pm

    So, so sweet. Made my tear up!

  5. #5 by tierd on March 4, 2009 - 5:08 pm

    I meant to say “made ME tear up!”

Leave a Reply

