Hil Street takes a vacation

No posts for a week – Husbanks and I are headed to sunny Playa del Carmen where my world will nary be emails, meetings, heels, early mornings, or working … but books, sun, flip-flops, sundresses, and bikinis!  In Mexico, we will celebrate a belated five-year anniversary and Ryantine’s Day.

For you bibliophiles, here’s the heat I’m packing:

1. Jerusalem, Karen Armstrong

My friend Elizabeth told me that Armstrong is such a fun writer that she is not accepted in theological academic circles.  Historical novel a little too loosey-goosey for academia?  Comparing Abrahamic religions?  I. AM. DROOLING.

armstrong

2. Accidental Tourist, Anne Tyler

My Mom’s fave, can’t believe I haven’t read it yet.  I guess I just needed to be ready.

acct

3.The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck.

I am an Okie AND East of Eden is my favorite book.  How have I not read this? 

grapes

Religion novel, contemporary-ish novel that reminds me of home, and a classic.  I think I am set.

Hil Street – out!

  1. #1 by Ellie on February 10, 2009 - 12:15 pm

    Bon voyage, Hil Street. Have a great time. Looking forward to pictures when you get back!

  2. #2 by hilstreet on February 10, 2009 - 12:22 pm

    I am looking forward to pictures of you as well, Ellie!

  3. #3 by Weslie on February 10, 2009 - 8:29 pm

    Playa del Carmen is one of my favorite Mexican locales. Have a margarita at the Blue Parrot for me. Have a fabulous time!

  4. #4 by Yvette on February 10, 2009 - 11:02 pm

    Have fun, Hil! The Grapes of Wrath is a really good read!

  5. #5 by Becky on February 11, 2009 - 7:45 pm

    Awesome! Where are you staying?

  6. #6 by Tierd on February 12, 2009 - 4:27 pm

    Oh fun! We’ve been there a couple of times and are so ready to go back – the beach is so beautiful there! And Grapes of Wrath is great … you’ll love it (esp. b/c you loved East of Eden!) 🙂

  7. #7 by Greg on February 13, 2009 - 12:21 pm

    Sounds like fun. A beach, a few books and a little romantic time. Have a great time! (Also, let me know how Jerusalem reads… I loved Grapes of Wrath and Accidental Tourist, but I am a little weak on my historical novels…)

Leave a Reply

