Soup Week – Crock-Pot Gumbo

Amber, Nathan, Steph … forgive me.  My gumbo recipe includes a crock-pot and is probably not even gumbo.  There are questionable ingredients below.  Please don’t be angry.

For the rest of you … I think this recipe is freaking delicious!  First time I made roux I did almost burn the house down though.  Oops.

This, and many other great basics, come from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook (a.k.a “the red and white checkered cookbook”).  Most of the meals served in Hil Street’s home come from this kitchen staple.  I prepare everything for this gumbo the night before, and mix it together in the crock pot in the morning.

Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cooking oil
3 cups water
12 ounces cooked smoked sausage links, quartered lengthwise and sliced (I have been known to use little smokies or even better, uncured hippy summer sausage from Whole Foods)
12 ounces skinless, boneless chicken breasts or thighs, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
One 10-ounce package frozen sliced okra, thawed
1 cup chopped onion (1 large)
1/2 cup chopped green sweet pepper (1 small)
1/2 cup chopped celery (1 stalk)
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3 cups hot cooked rice

For roux, in a medium heavy saucepan stir together flour and oil until smooth. Cook and stir constantly over medium-high heat for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to medium. Cook and stir constantly about 15 minutes more or until a dark, reddish brown color is reached; cool.  (OK – no.  Here is what I do: I cook the roux on low medium heat for ~10 minutes then on lower heat for 30-45 minutes.  When it’s dark red – like a tarnished penny – it’s done.  I make it, cool it, and leave it in the fridge overnight.  I just heat the roux a little before putting it in the crock pot.)

Place water in a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker. Stir in roux. Add sausage, chicken, okra, onion, sweet pepper, celery, garlic, salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper.

Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 6 to 7 hours or on high-heat setting for 3 to 3-1/2 hours. Skim off fat. Serve gumbo over hot cooked rice. Makes 6 servings.

  1. #1 by Ward on January 8, 2009 - 4:07 pm

    As someone with cajun relatives, I can authoritatively say that is, in fact, a full-fledged gumbo.

    Interestingly, all the cajuns I know use store-bought roux. Only people I’ve seen make their own have been non-cajuns. Hmm…

  2. #2 by hilstreet on January 8, 2009 - 5:19 pm

    Thanks, Matt. I think it’s delicious. Even when I include Little Smokies. 🙂

  3. #3 by slogerot on January 9, 2009 - 2:11 am

    It’s not bad at all! I wouldn’t use okra though. In fact, I don’t know any other Cajuns who put okra in their gumbo. Also, most of us don’t make our own roux! It’s a pain in the butt. Savoie’s or Douget’s works fine. 🙂 I saw Alton Brown make it in the oven once and was intrigued, but haven’t tried it yet.

    (I’m ignoring your little smokies comment though.)

  4. #4 by Ginny on January 9, 2009 - 3:51 am

    What the heck is ROUX?! I’ve been wanting to use my crock pot!

  5. #5 by hilstreet on January 9, 2009 - 1:58 pm

    LOL, Steph … Nathan had the same reaction to little smokies!

  6. #6 by hilstreet on January 9, 2009 - 2:00 pm

    Hil Street community – please respond to Ginny’s query!

  7. #7 by Emilie on January 9, 2009 - 5:44 pm

    I believe “roux” is a term for an old, wooden ship

  8. #8 by Morgan on January 9, 2009 - 8:37 pm

    Hey Ginny–its a mixture of flour and butter that is used to start a sauce or soup, and provide thickness and a buttery taste. If a soup or sauce has a roux, butter is melted in a pan and then flour is whisked in until it is all combined, then the rest of the soup/sauce ingredients proceed. Often, a recipe has a roux, but it doesn’t call out that it does, the recipe just starts with melting butter and adding the flour.

  9. #9 by hilstreet on January 9, 2009 - 8:53 pm

    Noah’s roux.

  10. #10 by slogerot on January 10, 2009 - 4:12 pm

    Roux (pronounced “roo”) is really easy to burn, too. Hence the fact that many people just buy it already made in a jar.

  11. #11 by Ginny on January 11, 2009 - 12:50 am

    …and now I know. 🙂

  12. #12 by Ward on January 12, 2009 - 5:57 pm

    Ah yes, forgot to comment on the okra issue. The Ward family leaves it out. That tends to be my preference as well; I don’t like slimey gumbo. Also, I don’t think the Ward family employs filé either, not that it’s in your recipe.

  13. #13 by Nathan on January 16, 2009 - 3:06 am

    Little smokies?! Who knows, the “little smokie gumbo” may become a Cajun delicacy, right alongside boudin, “head” cheese and frog legs! Like the Ward’s and Logerot’s, the Guitrau’s also use store-bought roux (our preference is a mix from Jacob’s in LaPlace, LA). We’re split 50-50 on the okra. Amber’s grandmother still includes it. My family stopped using it some time ago. The same with filé. In true cajun spirit, I eat gumbo any way it’s served!

Leave a Reply

