Soup Week: Bearing gifts

Did the three kings show up in your nativity scene today?  Today is Epiphany, the day we remember the Magi’s gifts and travels to the baby Jesus.  Today I give you another gift just around the corner from Mesopotamia: the Greek Stifado.

Stacie‘s mom has got it goin’ on.  She also has the “Virginia Hospitality” cookbook with the best apple bread recipe ever, and this great stew.   She gave the cookbook to us as a wedding gift.   

This stew keeps well – just be sure to always sprinkle fresh feta cheese on each serving, not in the whole pot.

Stifado
3 lbs. lean beef, 1 1/2 inch cubes
4 Tbs. butter
1 Tbs. salt
3 ounces tomato paste
2 3/4 cups condensed beef broth
1 bay leaf
1 clove garlic, split (I crushed my garlic)
2 Tbs. wine vinegar
2 lbs. small white onions, peeled (I cut them into rings)
1 cup walnuts, chopped
1/2 lb. feta cheese (I just sprinkled feta on top – I try not to purchase my cheese in ‘lbs.’)

Brown beef in butter. Add remaining ingredients except onions, nuts and cheese. Add water to cover and boil for 1 1/2 hours.

Add onions and cook until tender. Put in nuts and bring to a boil. 

Add cheese just before serving.  Serves 6.

At the end of this recipe there is a note that “feta cheese may be purchased at a cheese or gourmet shop. ”  So cute, those Virginians of Yore, not sure where to get feta cheese. Don’t eat the bay leaf.

  1. #1 by morgan on January 7, 2009 - 3:02 pm

    This looks delicious.

  2. #2 by Suz on January 7, 2009 - 3:25 pm

    Hi Hilary – sorry the comments got deleted! I believe I said something along the lines of ‘this looks REALLY GOOD and I think I’ll try it soon! Esp since I have a freezer full of beef stock from the Christmas standing rib roast’.

    Another benefit? This will require very few modifications for my food allergies. I had attempted to make a gluten/egg/dairy/soy free yorkshire pudding recently and it managed to be both burned and undercooked at the same time, YUCK.

Leave a Reply

