Soup Week!

Warm soup can warm the soul.  On a chilly day, you can feel soup warm you up from your belly to your face.  Soup is more than a meal – it’s comfort.  It’s also about a week of meals if you are cooking for 1-2.  One big pot of soup usually keeps well and provides days of delicious soul-warming nutrition.

It’s chilly here in Austin today.  Before it gets back up to 80 degrees, I’m going to start soup week and share my favorite soup recipes with you.

First soup of the week is from Lauren!  It’s fast, delicious and vegetarian.

Garlicky Spinach Tortellini Soup
2 Tbs. unsalted butter
6-8 cloves garlic, chopped
½ cup onion (I use yellow onion)
4 cups low sodium vegetable or chicken broth
2 cups water
9 oz. fresh or frozen cheese tortellini (I used 15 oz. box of  mushroom tortellini from the refrigerated section)
14.5 oz. canned diced tomatoes with liquid
10 oz spinach leaves – stems chopped off
8-10 basil leaves, chopped
1 egg
½ cup grated Parmesan
Salt and pepper to taste

In large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add garlic and onion, sauté 2-3 minutes add broth and water and bring to boil.

Add tortellini and cook halfway (about 5 minutes for frozen, less for fresh).

Add tomatoes and their liquid, reduce heat to simmer and cook until pasta is tender (about 4 minutes).

Stir in spinach and basil and cook until wilted (1-2 minutes).

Whisk egg, cheese, salt and pepper and drizzle into soup and cook, stirring about 3 minutes remove from heat and serve – about 6 servings.

This soup reheats well and tastes great the next day, but the tortellinis do fall apart.  When you are eating floppy pasta, don’t say you weren’t warned.

  1. #1 by morgan on January 5, 2009 - 7:34 pm

    I am glad soup week was met with such blistery cold weather. mmm mmmm good.

  2. #2 by tarathronson on January 5, 2009 - 11:09 pm

    Yeah for soup week! I’m trying a few soup recipes this winter, this one looks delicious! I plan to try the butternut squash soup recipe from last month’s Runner’s World soon…I’ll let you know if it’s a keeper.

  3. #3 by tierd on January 6, 2009 - 2:38 pm

    Yum – that sounds great. You may have inspired me to try making soup!

  4. #4 by Emilie on January 6, 2009 - 8:56 pm

    I can vouch for this soup. It’s delicious. It makes an excellent recession meal for any recession holiday! Copious amounts of alcohol made a great addtion to this recession dish.

  5. #5 by MirelesMinute on January 8, 2009 - 4:33 am

    I wish I could call this my own, but I actually got it from my good friend, Stephanie. Let me know if you need more soup recipes. I have two other recipes that were also winners from a “SOUP OFF” contest.

Leave a Reply

