Best Christmas Songs, Artist Category – by Husbanks and Hil!

Last year, I was a little negative with my Bad Christmas Songs post.  Yesterday, I was a little negative when I claimed that Martin reuined Christmas.

To make up for it, this year Husbanks and I brainstormed the best artist renditions of our Christmas favorites.*  Hope your comments contribute.

I Saw Three Ships: Sufjan, no one does this song as well as you do.  You give this old classic a new groove that makes me cha-cha-cha whenever I hear it.

God Rest Ye Merry GentlemenBarenaked Ladies and Sarah McLaughlin make harmonies that truly make Gentlemen and women merry, Canadian or otherwise.

Santa Baby: No one does it like Eartha Kitt.  No one.  Thank you, Miss Kitt, for your contributions to Cat Woman and Christmas music.

Blue Christmas: The King is the King of this Christmas tune.  Thanks, Elvis, for making this sad song a song you want to smile and sway to.

Mele Kalimaka: Bing Crosby and the Andrews Sisters have the island-Christmas-songs-market cornered, and they do this one the best. I remember wanting to be an Andrews Sister when I was little.

Carol of the Bells: The Mormons know shiny things, such as plates from heaven and bells.  Leave it to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir to ring this one in as perfect.

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: They should name a reindeer Gene Autry!

Once in Royal David’s City: Sufjan wins again!  The horn part makes me want to skip around like a little kid!  When I hear this, I feel young enough to have the urge to be an Andrews Sister.

Silent Night: Stevie Nicks, you put a whimsical touch to one of the most whimsical songs of Advent, making this a whimsical song of whirly burlies.

Best recent originals

Come on!  Let’s Boogey to the Elf Dance: Sorry Sufjan is coming up so much, but his Christmas box set includes stickers!  I mean … come on!  What else can get you in the Christmas spirit quite like stickers?  This song!

All I Want for Christmas is You: Mariah, you are cheesy.  But this song really gets me in the Christmas mood.  It helps that your song was in Love Actually. Hugh Grant gets me in all sorts of moods … including Christmas.**

*Husbanks and I love to hate Josh Groban.  Sorry he didn’t make the list.

**Editor’s note: This was Hil’s comment and does not speak for the beliefs or feelings of both editors.

  1. #1 by Greg on December 23, 2008 - 7:12 pm

    I would like to nominate Bing Crosby’s White Christmas… but that’s just me.

  2. #2 by hilstreet on December 23, 2008 - 7:37 pm

    I agree. No one else should sing that!

  3. #3 by Will on December 30, 2008 - 12:54 pm

    Know this is a little late Hil, but Hollis told me this was his favorite Christmas song:

  4. #4 by hilstreet on December 30, 2008 - 3:11 pm

    Christmas is in Hollis! Thanks, Will!

Leave a Reply

