Archive for October 15th, 2008

My two cents on change

I almost named this post “Screw you, 2008!” so please bear with me.

2008 has been a year of learning.  New jobs, and saying goodbye.  Change is hard.  The latest change is the promotion of our senior pastor.

The Methodist church has itinerant pastors (where the minsters move churches every few years).  This process is in place for lots of reasons.  This prevents a church from focusing on a pastor – churches should be focused on God and community, not just the personality of a pastor.  Also, there was sadly a time when women and minority ministers couldn’t get decent jobs in the ministry, and itinerancy helped change that.  Well, we still have itinerant ministers in the Methodist church, but I didn’t think that change would come to my sweet little church!

Well, our senior pastor was recognized for her awesomeness and has become our district superintendent.  With this promotion, she now will provide leadership for Methodist churches in the Austin area and recommend the very change I am lambasting in the previous paragraph.  I am proud of her (she is such a fantastic leader) but we will miss hearing from her every Sunday!  Luckily she is leaving us in the hands of three fantastic pastors (including her husband) whom I love and respect dearly. This is still a change though, right on the heels of Kevin and Sarah and Tara and Eric’s departure.  No more moving, people!

My job has changed too.  Now, I am working with the marketing teams in southeast Asia and Australia in addition to my India/Middle East/Russia duties.  Basically, I am now working on our marketing strategy for 1/2 of the world’s land mass (gasp). 

Change is hard.  But it makes you grow.  Being in the uncomfortable situation of learning and figuring things out on your own makes you stronger.  Friday I leave for three weeks to visit my offices abroad, and I will learn so much.  I’ll be tired and stressed and insecure, but that will make other stressful things seem much easier. 

I think Kanye West said it first: 😉 if it doesn’t kill you, it can only make you stronger.

4 Comments