I would like to thank my parents, Ayn Rand and Jesus.

Last Wednesday was National Punctuation Day.  I have several editor and writer friends.  They like to celebrate punctuation holidays, listen to podcasts about grammar, and send me fun videos (like the one below – thanks, Johanna!). The serial comma omitted from this post’s title proves that punctuation is important!  Let’s celebrate!

More proof that punctuation is important: A couple weeks ago, I had a get-together for my birthday.  I invited some friends, including new friends, Sean and Mary. I invited them via e-mail.  As for the party’s date and time, I wrote:

Friday, September 5 – 7:00 p.m.

When Sean and Mary arrived to the party at 5:45 p.m., I thought about what I had written in the e-mail.  They skimmed over e-mail invite and assumed the party was from 5-7 p.m. because I chose a dash to separate the date and time.  They thought the party’s times were strange, but they made sense of it by assuming that I had to work with Asia after 7:00 p.m., of course.  🙂 They helped Ellie, Ryan and me set up the party.  If my folly doesn’t convince you of the importance of grammar … WHAT WILL?!?!?!?!

Watch Victor Borge and Dean Martin bring punctuation to music!

  1. #1 by Deirdre on October 2, 2008 - 2:12 am

    I want to thank Vampire Weekend for giving an F about the Oxford Comma and putting on a great show at ACL. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_i1xk07o4g

  2. #2 by Greg on October 2, 2008 - 4:01 pm

    OK…I’ll bite… why Ayn Rand?

  3. #3 by hilstreet on October 3, 2008 - 4:33 am

    This sentence is a grammar example from my friend Andria – I am no expert (or follower of) objectivism. 🙂 Thanks for biting though! :))

Leave a Reply

