Vacation in Austin with the Aunties!

This weekend, I took a lovely vacation in Austin.  My mom and aunt (known collectively as “the aunties”) visited, so we painted the town red.  We saw the bats, walked on South Congress, visited art galleries, took a Duck Adventure tour, walked the art festival, learned about the History of Texas (the country of Texas joined the US due to debt I hear!) and dined at the Oasis.  My cousin and his family joined in for some of the fun too.  That is one of the great parts part about having visitors – you do all the tourist stuff you would never do on a normal weekend!

The bats were particularly fun because it was “bat night” for a local elementary school.  There may have been more kids than bats.  Mom and Aunt Hazel wore protective scarves to avoid bats getting stuck in their hair and driving them “batty.”  Those ladies are always thinking ahead!

Another fun part of the trip was showing the ladies the zoo we live in.  Hollis and Martin were sassy as ever.  Jumping on the couch and table.  Jumping on my mom.  Biting my aunt’s behind.  You know, usual stuff.  My mom tried to discipline Martin for scratching our chair (which she had upholstered) and he showed her by pooping in the guest bathtub.  When Martin pooped, Hollis (like Lassie, I am told) alerted my Aunt to the scene.  I haven’t seen Husbanks laugh that hard in a long time.

After the aunties left, I was sad for a couple days.  Hollis and Martin sniffed around for the aunties as well.  I definitely went through some empty nest phases.

 

Under the Texas Star at the Texas History Museum (Husbanks, Luc, Mom, Hil L to R, Little Angelique holding Luc’s hands)

View of Lake Travis from the Oasis

Leslie – an instillation of the “Keep Austin Weird” persona

The Aunties at the bats wearing their protective head scarves (Mom and Hazel L to R)

,

  1. #1 by Steph on September 26, 2008 - 11:26 am

    Sounds like a great weekend!

  2. #2 by Weslie on September 26, 2008 - 6:53 pm

    Awww, your mom is adorable. You have good genes.

    P.S. Is the “Keep Austin Weird” guy wearing any shorts?

  3. #3 by hilstreet on September 26, 2008 - 8:12 pm

    He is wearing a thong with a water bottle clipped to the front and a costume-devil tail clipped to the back. Normal summer pants, right?

  4. #4 by Suz on September 27, 2008 - 4:38 am

    At least they wear utilikilts in Seattle, huh Weslie.
    I missed the bats when I was down there in May!

  5. #5 by Ellie on September 28, 2008 - 1:48 am

    Hit it, Harriet!!! I love your mom. She makes me smile. I bet she wasn’t smiling at Martin’s bon voyage gift, though.

Leave a Reply

