90 miles?

This weekend, Ryan participated in the “Great Austin to Shiner Pedal” – a bike ride benefiting the Lance Armstrong Foundation and celebrating delicious beer.  On Saturday, Ryan “I only mountain bike” rode (on streets) from Austin, Texas to the Shiner brewery in Shiner, Texas.  90 miles!  There are many people who made this possible:

1. Christine and Dave for signing Ryan up in the first place

2. Mike and Amanda for watching Hollis and for giving Ryan advice on how to survive a bike race

3. Kevin for letting Ryan borrow George Hincapie‘s US Postal Service bike.  Kevin, employed at Lance’s sports agency, got the bike through his job.  The bike is so nice and light!

4. The ladies with me at the spiritual retreat I attended this weekend – I had everyone praying for Ryan’s strength and safety!

5. And of course – Ryan!  I am very proud of you for finishing this race after two weeks of training.  Congrats!

  1. #1 by Husbanks on May 5, 2008 - 11:30 am

    Yes! I’d like to send double thank yous to KB and to Mike. Both the bike and the advice were invaluable. If anyone wants to do the ride next year, let me know!

  2. #2 by mirelesminute on May 5, 2008 - 10:02 pm

    Congrats, Ryan! Maybe you can do the MS150 next year? A bunch of us are doing the Real Ale Ride at the end of May. You should join us.

  3. #3 by Will on May 6, 2008 - 6:19 am

    Hincapie’s bike? Hil, you’re such a name-dropper.
    Congrats Husbanks. Hope the beer was good.

  4. #4 by hilstreet on May 6, 2008 - 6:48 pm

    Will – I’d like to comment on the name dropping:
    1. How else would you have KNOWN HOW COOL the bike was if I didn’t tell you to whom it belong-ed.

    2. I totally name drop your name, Mr. Graves! You are “the AP reporter I know” … that gets me major points in the PR world! Thanks for the cred.

  5. #5 by Ellie on May 7, 2008 - 7:01 am

    T-Minus less than 3 weeks!

Leave a Reply

