Virginia Lee Taylor!

Many years ago, when I was a single lady in college, my friend Bonnie set me up on a date her friend, James.  He lived an hour-and-a-half away in this strange city called “Austin.”  We talked on the phone a few times before we met.  When we talked on the phone, I’d let all my roommates, Becky, Ginny and Katie, talk to him too.  Ginny would giggle at his jokes (that’s important later on in this story).

James and I eventually met and barely dated.  After a few months, I hadn’t heard from James at all.  I had been dating Ryan for almost a year, and I had no idea what James was up to.  It was one fateful summer night when I got the update from Katie:

“Hil, Gin wants me to tell you something.  She is afraid you will be mad … so she said it would be OK if I broke the news to you.”

“Oh my goodness – what is it?”

“Ginny and James have been dating for like six months and they really like each other and Ginny thinks you might be mad.”

(I broke into hysterical laughter because I wasn’t mad.  The previous six months flew into my mind – “OH MY GOODNESS I AM STUPID,” I thought.  Ginny would visit Austin every once in a while.  I never questioned why Ginny was making these trips.  It all made sense!)

Today, they have dated for seven years, visited Asia extensively together and have been BFFs through it all.

Why am I telling you this story?  Why am I drudging this up?  Because Saturday, April 19, 2008, Ginny and James were visiting her friend, Karen in The Woodlands.  At Karen’s paper goods shop, James and Ginny decided to look through some sample wedding invitations when …. lo and behold … Ginny and James’ wedding invitation was an example.  In Ginny’s favorite colors.  James proposed!

That is so creative – good work James!

Congratulations!  You two are great friends and I wish you a  blessed and happy life together.  It makes me smile when I think about how excited you must be!  See you Friday, Gin!

  1. #1 by Husbanks on April 21, 2008 - 8:56 am

    Congrats to the future Mr and Mrs. Scrap Iron Taylor!

  2. #2 by Ginny on April 21, 2008 - 9:08 am

    Thank you for not loving James Taylor…in that way.

  3. #3 by Ginny on April 21, 2008 - 9:09 am

    Ryan – thank you for distracting her.

  4. #4 by hilstreet on April 21, 2008 - 9:21 am

    I love me some James Taylor (not the advertiser).

  5. #5 by Katie on April 21, 2008 - 9:25 pm

    Umm … Hilary I think there’s something you should know … Ginny has been dating James Taylor for like 45 years and they’re engaged now and going to have babies. Ginny thinks you might be mad … I told her you are going to have babies with Ryan and it’s okay … lets all have babies.

    I love you both!!! See you Saturday morning roomies!!!

  6. #6 by hilstreet on April 22, 2008 - 7:06 am

    I have two babies! Martin and Hollis. Three babies if you count Ryan when he is cranky. ooooohhhh Burn!

  7. #7 by Becky on April 23, 2008 - 12:42 pm

    What about me?? I have 1 baby!! (I just wanted to be included in the discussion…) Hee hee! See you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

