Hope you are having a Good Friday

Today is Good Friday- the day we remember Jesus’ crucifixion.  Although it sounds inappropriate (and kind of rude), Good Friday is one of my favorite Holy Days.  It’s a serious day and it’s not about us at all.  Christmas and Easter are busy holidays that require a lot of coordination and planning while Good Friday is a time for quiet reflection.  A time to process.  A time to think.  I mean, no one bakes a cake for Good Friday.  (After reading this blog post, I realize that maybe I am just lazy and don’t want to host a party?)

In all seriousness … have a mindful and reverant Good Friday.  Today we have the time to stop and focus on Jesus’ radical revolution refocusing the world on love, new life, equality and forgiveness. 

  1. #1 by Tara on March 21, 2008 - 1:24 pm

    After the Maundy Thursday service last night, I’m thinking that Maundy Thursday/Good Friday might mean more to me Easter weekend than Easter Sunday itself. I guess b/c these services help me understand and appreciate Easter Sunday better. Thanks for the good Good Friday reflection Hosanna Street!

  2. #2 by hilstreet on March 21, 2008 - 2:07 pm

    Yes! I agree Tara. As our minister says: It’s not just Easter Sunday It’s an entire story that starts with Palm Sunday.

Leave a Reply

