Hil Street Book Review: Eat, Pray, Love

Eat, Pray, Love was a summer Oprah Book Club pick, so I am pretty sure that I am the very last person to read it.  Then why a book review?  During Holy Week?  This novel is not necessarily a Christian book.  It’s also not one of my favorites.  I have mixed feelings.  I loved it and I hated it, which may be exactly what the author wanted. 

Downgrade:The author talks about her self-pity and woeful life for roughly 200 pages (even though she is a privileged, talented, beautiful woman – cry me a river, please), then, she doesn’t even stick to her guns.  So, I felt like I was trapped reading post after post of someone’s whiny, whiny blog (please don’t leave me, dear blog reader).  

Upgrade: What I did like about the whiny Elizabeth was her sincerity.   During the “pray” section of the novel, she shared her experience through complete mindfulness.  Our Sunday school class recently spent a few weeks studying meditation and mindfulness, and our lessons took me back to Elizabeth’s descriptions of complete peace in prayer.  Spiritual preparation like that can better prepare you for Holy Week than giving up coffee or sweets or reality TV.

Conclusion:Perhaps Elizabeth’s constant, grating complaints were making a point.  Maybe that is the peace of the book – you are so sick and tired of her whining that the peace of her meditation experience is the fresh air of the novel because in her real life she was so sick and tired of being sad that the peace of meditation was the fresh air of her real life.  I’ll never know.  What I will know is that I do not believe that she met someone in Italy with the last name “Spaghetti.”  That is just too much.

  1. #1 by Weslie on March 20, 2008 - 12:52 pm

    Most of my bibliophile friends have the exact same sentiment as you. Whine, whine, whine. And I don’t mean the delicious outcome of fermented grapes either.

    Good review! Keep em’ comin! Also, are you on Goodreads.com? I know. Just what you need, another social networking site, right?

  2. #2 by Ginny on March 20, 2008 - 1:44 pm

    Boooo Elizabeth…your life is not that bad!!

  3. #3 by hilstreet on March 21, 2008 - 8:05 am

    Weslie – I am not a member of goodreads … I am excited!

Leave a Reply

