Apartment 22D!

This weekend, I had the pleasure of spending some time with my college roommates.  We try to plan a “Roommate Reunion Weekend” once a year, but it didn’t happen in ’07.  So, on Sunday we held the “Roommate Reunion Make-up Summit” at a Starbucks in Dallas off Loop 635 and Webb Chapel. We only had time for coffee – an hour is so short! It was more like “Roommate Reunion Speed Dating.”  But it was still a delight.

It’s crazy to think that we met nine years ago, lived together all of college and still remain buddies.  We lived through:

  • first dates
  • secret boyfriends (looking at you Gin)
  • heartbreak
  • bad grades
  • good grades
  • different hair cuts (and colors!)
  • college parties
  • little brother and sister birthday parties
  • borderline-illegal stalking maneuvers of our sexy neighbor in 14E (Husbanks)
  • COFFEE!
  • working out
  • engagement rings
  • all other things a group of girls can encounter while attending a southern Baptist college in the heart of Texas.

Now we are there for each other through all the decisions that come with careers, marriage, tragedies, babies and all other things “adult.”

I love you girls!


2000 (My 20th birthday)


2001 (In Austin at the Oasis … Ginny’s 20th birthday)


2002 (Katie’s family’s Christmas party – All blondies!)


2008 (Becky’s son Hayden immediately achieved “22D Honorary Status”)

  1. #1 by Husbanks on March 12, 2008 - 8:48 am

    Wow. Nine years. We are getting old, Osburn. Hello ladies of 22D. Thanks for giving me the chance to date Hil!

  2. #2 by Katie on March 12, 2008 - 9:24 pm

    Okay not only am I impressed that we’ve been friends NINE years (are we old enough to have been friends that long??? has it been THAT long since we started college??? should I be calling college-aged kids “young whipper-snappers” now??? eek!) but I’m THOUROUGHLY impressed that you remembered what occasions each of those pictures were taken at! I would have just looked at the pictures and said “Aww, 22D!” Some things I ALSO remember fondly are hair straightners everywhere, my love for Friends starting because of my roommates’ love for Friends (I now own all 10 Seasons) random food items (i.e. coconuts, etc.) being bought that no one was sure how to eat or cut or cook, decorating for ANY holiday that Wal Mart sold decorations for AND for a near hospital visit for SOMEONE’S spazzy-ness over SOMEONE else … 🙂 Ryan I am so glad you dated Hil … and married her!!! I MISS YOU 22D!!! Let’s do the Thurs – Sat SOON!!!

  3. #3 by hilstreet on March 13, 2008 - 7:46 am

    Katie – those are really good ones. Hair straightners, Friends and coconuts really sum it up!

  4. #4 by Ginny on March 13, 2008 - 8:59 am

    Let’s not forget…Hil’s obsession with the mail key (wink wink), crazy Cuban coffee from John H, and the night we ate the whole popcorn tin and predicted our futures. Wish I could have hung around for the whole four years. Damn nursing school!

  5. #5 by hilstreet on March 13, 2008 - 11:06 am

    OH THE POPCORN! That was hilarious. I wish we could find the predictions we made!

  6. #6 by Weslie on March 13, 2008 - 11:52 pm

    Is this the same Ginny Hil put an interweb APB on earlier this year?

  7. #7 by hilstreet on March 14, 2008 - 7:32 am

    Good question, Weslie. That was a different Ginny, also spelled with a “Gi.” I can see where you would assume they were the same.

  8. #8 by b on March 15, 2008 - 1:38 pm

    yay 22D! good times

    when do we have a penland lunch reunion?

    ps – come bring hollis by next time you’re in dallas

  9. #9 by Becky on April 28, 2008 - 2:04 pm

    Ok, I somehow missed this posting until today!! Geez, I have the perfect nack for being the one out of the loop! (: I love you guys and am so glad whenever I get to see you all!! I wish we could find that list of predictions. Maybe we can do something this summer together!

Leave a Reply

