Visiting Oklahoma!

I love visiting my hometown.  It’s simple.  It’s honest.  It’s Oklahoma.  But how easily I forget its wiles and charms.  The longer I live in the tolerant oasis of Austin, the more I am easily surprised.  I am often amazed of what I find when I go home.  Today, dear blog reader, I will be giving you a glimpse into what you might encounter if you visit Oklahoma.

On Saturday morning, I saw a truck sporting this bumper sticker: “#3 – God needed a driver” with an angel halo over the #3. This bumper sticker really confused me.  First of all, does God ever really need a driver?  If God is omnipresent, isn’t he anywhere all at once?  Why does he need a driver to get from one place to another if he is already there?  And, if he is already there, why would he have such a fast driver?   And, if we have already have established God’s omnipresence, and he seems to have a driver “just for fun,” why would he pick a reckless one?  The liability does not match up.

On Saturday afternoon, we headed out to do some shopping.  In my hometown – you can not avoid Wal-Mart.  I know, I know, I would be better off just handing my money to Satan, or Karl Rove or “The Intimidator.”  But there are very few options when you are in the OKC.  So, I was at Wal-Mart with my mother when I noticed a bargain bin of metallic purses.  So, I got two fantastic gold purses for $8.62.  Oh, that includes tax.  As I was admiring my purchase, I noticed that all the toddlers in my hometown are very well put together.  Some even seemed to be wearing makeup.  Then I looked up and saw a flash.   My mother and I were shopping in aisle 10 which happened to be the catwalk for the annual hometown Easter dress toddler fashion show, sponsored by Wal-Mart and the local kid hair salon.  Beautiful children celebrating a dress purchase to honor Jesus’ resurrection in Wal-Mart?  I truly felt at home! 

  1. #1 by Husbanks on March 10, 2008 - 9:58 am

    Boomer!

  2. #2 by Ellie on March 10, 2008 - 10:17 am

    I heart Edmond. Sort of.
    🙂

  3. #3 by WH on March 10, 2008 - 11:37 am

    Poop on Stoops.

  4. #4 by Leanne on March 11, 2008 - 8:13 am

    Seeing as how I am originally from Alabama, allow me to shed light on the bumper sticker. The #3 is a reference to Dale Earnhardt and the car he drove during his NASCAR career. His untimely death was a sign to God-fearing NASCAR fans that God, indeed, needed a driver.

    I hope this clears up any questions of faith you may have experienced.

  5. #5 by Weslie on March 11, 2008 - 2:25 pm

    That makes so much more sense. I hope God is enjoying his fast driving and left turning.

  6. #6 by hilstreet on March 11, 2008 - 3:31 pm

    Sorry – I see now that my joke did not have enough background. I forget that people “not from these parts” don’t see “#3” and associate it immediately with the late NASCAR celebrity Dale Earnhardt, “The Intimidator.” (#3 in your program, #1 in your heart!) Another good one is: “#3 Went to Race in a Better Place.”

    Weslie, I consider it a good thing that you needed clarification. Thanks, Leanne, for knowing that the Hil Street audience may not know Dale Earnhardt!

  7. #7 by Keri on March 12, 2008 - 7:27 pm

    An Easter dress toddler show? In the middle of Wal-Mart? Okay, NOW I am officially homesick!

  8. #8 by hilstreet on March 13, 2008 - 7:45 am

    With makeup, Keri. MAKEUP! I know you are ready to leave your chamber life behind and head right on back to the Sooner State!

  9. #9 by Suz on March 13, 2008 - 10:26 pm

    Thanks for the Dale clarification…I was wondering if the #3 had something to do with the holy trinity, or something.

Leave a Reply

