Hil Street Review: The Oscars!

robert_boyle_2.jpg

Ryan and I attended an Oscar party on Sunday.  It was a blast, complete with flowing champagne and wagers on the winners.  But, I think the most shocking part of the night was when my dad won an Oscar

If you know my dad, you understand why this is hilarious. This Production Designer, Robert Boyle, really looks like dad! He won an honorary Oscar for designing films such as North by Northwest and Fiddler on the Roof.  (The picture above is a picture of Robert Boyle – not of my dad.  I felt the need to clarify because my father probably has that tie.)  Keri and I wonder – where will dad display the Oscar at the house?

  1. #1 by Sammiches on February 26, 2008 - 12:40 pm

    If you click on that picture and enlarge it, perhaps you could identify the object on the podium in front of your father.

    It appears to be the mangled carcass of a cute little kitten, and because of that – while I must congratulate your dad on his achievement – I’m kinda creeped out by him. I’m sure he’s nice in person, though.

  2. #2 by hilstreet on February 26, 2008 - 1:16 pm

    Yes – that’s why I made it a thumbnail image! What is that? Paper towel mold experiment?

    Sam, you get many blogland points for commenting on about 6 posts in the last 24 hours.

  3. #3 by Sammiches on February 26, 2008 - 1:48 pm

    I’ve been a slacker, I know. I read it all the time, but usually at points when I don’t have time to leave any witticisms.

    Tis a good blog, this one here.

Leave a Reply

