Undecided in Texas!

This will be my third presidential election registered in Texas.  Let me tell you – your vote doesn’t matter here.  All of Texas is red (well, then you notice a lake on the Texas map and realize that’s not a lake, but the city of Austin – the lone Democratic section in a sea of red).  So, electoral college-ly, your vote sure don’t matter.  All 34 electoral Lone Star State votes go to the more conservative candidate.  Even if I am voting for the conservative candidate, I need not show up – the others can cast the vote for me.

But in this primary – oh my!  My vote counts!

Usually, if I were undecided at this point, it would not be a problem for the aforementioned reasons.  But this time … this time … it matters!  The pressure. 

There are so many interesting variables!  No one remembers how to conduct a caucus here in Texas.  Oprah endorses Obama while Tina Fey endorses Hillary.  Hillary has more political experience, but McCain has more experience running for president.  Aye!  I have some reading to do.

  1. #1 by Husbanks on February 25, 2008 - 11:33 am

    I hear that each vote in the precinct 09465 Democratic caucus represents, like, 15 electoral votes in the national election. Hil, between the two of us, we could decide the next election.

    Overheard in the voting line:

    Man 1: “Dude, d’you hear that Obama carried both Ryan and Hilary? That’s 30 electoral votes right there.”

    Man 2: “Where’d he carry them?”

  2. #2 by Sammiches on February 25, 2008 - 10:54 pm

    The single biggest problem we Democrats have (particularly in Texas) is apathy.

    What is it gonna take to get the Dems in Texas to stop saying “What’s the point?” when the rest of Texas is always voting Republican — another Vietnam?

    Oh wait…

    M.E.B. – I actually HEARD the rimshot when I read your comment.

  3. #3 by Sammiches on February 25, 2008 - 10:56 pm

    By the way, the new layout looks great – even though you did it awhile ago. I’m just slow sometimes.

    And, hey! Thanks for linkin’ to the ol’ blog!

Leave a Reply

