Golf of the future?

For Ryan’s birthday, he asked for this from his parents:

sg2.jpg

This little $260.00 (not including service fee) contraption is a GPS system for … golf.  And golf only.  It downloads courses and tells you how far away the green is located.

Will, Sam, Blair and other Hil Street golfers … can you please explain this to me?  People have been playing golf since the 12th century.  I always assumed that Ryan and those before him found the green by using their eyes.  Isn’t that why a flag is on the green?  For visual identification purposes?

Ryan has never gotten lost on a golf course, even though he is usually drinking heavily.   What is the point of a GPS system for golf? 

I’ll try and relate this frivolous item to some of my hobbies:

1. Shopping –  Would this device take me straight to the clearance rack or tell me where clothes my size were located?

2. Yoga-ing – Would this device tell me exactly how not-straight my leg is and what angle my triangle pose should be?

3, Blogging – Would this device tell me exactly how angry Ryan is going to be after reading this post-o-mockery?

3. Eating – For that price, would this device make me dinner?

  1. #1 by Husbanks on February 19, 2008 - 9:03 am

    The picture speaks for itself. I mean, this little baby has “intelle-green” technology. The green actually rotates based on your position from the hole. Will, Blair and Sam, you are more than welcome to come play the fastest, most enjoyable round of golf…ever! complements of the Sky Caddie.

    Hil, using your example of shopping, you could relate this to a device that told you exactly how big that size 4 your are holding actually is. No guessing, no returning, just accurate information about EXACTLY how the blouse, jeans, dress you are holding will fit you… and it would rotate based on your position from the article of clothing. Wouldn’t you pay for that? I think you would.

  2. #2 by hilstreet on February 19, 2008 - 6:22 pm

    Nice defense … nice.

  3. #3 by Will on February 19, 2008 - 7:23 pm

    In defense of Husbanks _ and really of most husbands out there _ I will simply point to your closet. I’m curious as to how many different pairs of black/brown/magenta/pink shoes there are in shoe oeuvre. Then compare to the number of shoes in Husbanks closet. I’d wager it’s under 12.
    You ladies have your indulgences, we have ours.
    I think $260 (not including activation fee) is a pittance to know that it’s 150 to the front of the green, because we all know that if I’m feeling it, that’s a 7-iron, but if the wind is in my face or I haven’t taken my daily HGH injection, it’s going to take a 6-iron or maybe even a knockdown 5.
    And really, if that device is the difference between Husbanks shooting 89 or 90, I think it’s worth the price for the happier husband you’ll have home after the round.

    And if you’ve ever played golf with me, you’d realize that yes, it is possible to get lost on the golf course.

  4. #4 by Sammiches on February 25, 2008 - 11:10 pm

    When I’m at the tee box, driver in hand, and really just let fly – you know – “grip it and rip it,” as it were, and that little white ball rockets just below the speed of sound at a perfect 45-degree angle from where I was aiming — across the adjacent fairway, ricocheting off a rock, nearly killing the beer-cart girl, and finally coming to rest two feet outside the out-of-bounds fence atop a pile of cow dung, well…

    …have you guys seen my new SkyCaddie GPS system?

    It uses the new “Intelli-Green” technology!

  5. #5 by Keri on March 1, 2008 - 6:03 pm

    I don’t care about the Golf GPS, but I want me one of those shopping ones! That would rock!

Leave a Reply

