The Birthday of 1,000 cakes!

It’s not even Ryantine’s Day yet, and I have already made Ryan two birthday cakes!  Here is the scoop …

CAKE #1:We had a great time with the old gang on Sunday at Dart Bowl.  Hil-Street-mention regulars Eric and Tara were there, Kevin and Sarah “crank that” were in attendance, and we also invited Colin’s parents Cam and Tab (because Colin doesn’t have his driver’s license yet and we really wanted him to come).  We bowled a couple frames, dined a la greasy Dart Bowl, drank bowling-pin Bud Lights and shared the strawberry birthday cake.

Oh, the strawberry cake.

Every year for Ryan’s Valentine’s birthday, his mother would make him a strawberry cake in the shape of a heart.  It is a delicious cake, and my Husbanks (having a sweet tooth the size of Texas) loves this cake.  Knowing that Ryan loves sweets, I always delivered cookies to his office on his birthday, or ordered the largest dessert on the menu at restaurants. Little did I know – THIS WAS WRONG!

We were out for dinner a couple months ago and Ryan informed me (in a complete “emotional potato sack” over the head) that “I never make the strawberry cake he wants” and he wondered if it was because I didn’t like his mom.

I started crying.

Right there in Chuy’s, crying.  Am I a selfish wife who doesn’t know what Ryan wants at all?  Then, I was angry!  How was I to know you wanted this cake?  Am I a mind-reader?  Then I wanted revenge.  Strawberry cake with laxatives?  Then I calmed down and just made him the darn cake on Sunday.  It wasn’t in the shape of a heart (I haven’t calmed down enough to buy three heart-shaped cake pans, thank you), but the cake did fill that Freudian-void that Ryan has been experiencing for for the past four birthdays he and I have spent in marital “bliss.”

 

 

 

CAKE #2: Monday, Ryan and I accompanied Blair and Andria to Johanna’s place to meet her cat, Callie!  Callie is a (wait for it …) Calico kitty and sweet as can be. She probably has the softest coat I have ever felt on a cat.  And trust me, I’ve felt a lot of cats (?).

Andria and Johanna’s birthdays are on Feb. 15. so gosh darnit if I was not going to bake a cake!  I’ve never been to a birthday gathering where there were more birthdays than not.  Three out of the five in attendance have a birthday that week?  Hellz yeah you’re getting a cake!  So even though Ryan and I already had some cake drama, I made another cake – this time a vanilla-fudge marble cake. 

While Ryan’s mother’s recipe is a family recipe, here is the Better Homes and Gardens Vanilla-Fudge Marble Cake recipe:

 

Prep: 25 minutes
Bake: 50 minutes
Cool: 15 minutes
Stand: 15 minutes

Ingredients

Directions

1. Allow butter and eggs to stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, grease and lightly flour a 10-inch fluted tube pan. In a medium bowl stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on low to medium speed about 30 seconds. Add sugar and vanilla; beat until fluffy. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating on low to medium speed 1 minute after each addition and scraping bowl frequently. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk to butter mixture, beating on low speed after each addition just until combined. Reserve 2 cups batter. Pour remaining batter into the prepared pan.

3. In a small mixing bowl combine chocolate-flavored syrup and reserved 2 cups batter. Beat on low speed until well combined. Pour chocolate batter over vanilla batter in pan. Do not mix.

4. Bake about 50 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes on wire rack. Remove cake from pan; cool thoroughly on wire rack. Drizzle cake with Semisweet Chocolate Icing.

5. Makes 12 servings

6. Semisweet Chocolate Icing: In a small saucepan heat 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate pieces, 2 tablespoons butter, 1 tablespoon light-colored corn syrup, and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla over low heat, stirring until chocolate melts and mixture is smooth. Use immediately.

  1. #1 by saltimbocca on February 12, 2008 - 9:41 am

    I would like to say, I was able to have a piece of said Ryantine’s Day cake, and it was excellent. Two cakes in two days? all from “I-don’t/can’t-bake” Hil? Now we all know that is crap.

  2. #2 by Husbanks on February 12, 2008 - 9:28 am

    Hilstreet readers: don’t be afraid to ask your wife, husband, girlfriend, boyfriend, life partner, soul mate…etc for what you want. Chances are they want to give it to you.

    Thank you, Hil for making me a wonderful birthday cake. You are the best wife a Husbanks could ask for.

  3. #3 by hilstreet on February 12, 2008 - 11:08 am

    I still can’t bake cookies. Saltimbocca, you gave me an egg-tempuring lesson recently … maybe a cookie lesson next?

  4. #4 by Weslie on February 12, 2008 - 11:39 am

    Although the Strawberry Laxative Cake made me choke on my tea, I’m glad everyone wound up happy in the end.

    Happy Birthday Ryan!

  5. #5 by Ginny on February 12, 2008 - 10:03 pm

    Oh, I was going to ask how to make the strawberry cake until I read it was a sacred recipe (what?).

  6. #6 by hilstreet on February 12, 2008 - 10:58 pm

    Ryan, may I give Ginny the sacred cake recipe? I’m talking about the cake made with white cake mix, raspberry jello and frozen strawberries.

  7. #7 by Ginny on February 13, 2008 - 9:54 pm

    Is there butter? Do you microwave it first if you’re impatient?

  8. #8 by Ellie on February 14, 2008 - 5:44 am

    Happy Ryantines Day, Ryan!
    (and Hil!!)
    Hope it’s a happy day for you two.

  9. #9 by Will on February 14, 2008 - 8:04 am

    Happy Ryantine’s Day Ryan and Hil.

    Hil, gotta ask, it’s been like 2 weeks, can I get some cute Hollis and cat picture on here or what?

  10. #10 by hilstreet on February 14, 2008 - 9:11 am

    Will, your Ryantine’s Day wish is my command.

Leave a Reply

