Baby Animal Update!

I bet you are wondering how my world of Baby Animals is going.

Baby Animals need lots of love and attention, but I have things to do in the evenings … like shower … and eat dinner.   So, I have been getting up really early to love on them.  Yesterday morning, here’s how it went:

Hil: Get up!

Ryan: It’s early.

Hil: We have to care for our baby animals!

Ryan: You act like we live on a farm.

So, I let Hollis get in bed with Ryan “not so ‘Old McDonald’ ” Marchbanks. 

And Baby Animals are dramatic, I tell you!  Everything involves such energy. Loud meowing, hissing, whining, leaping, barking, swatting, pawing, pouncing, chewing and jumping.  Oh my! 

We are slowly introducing Martin and Hollis.  First, we set Martin up on the washer and open the door, revealing the puppy in the kitchen.  Martin hisses with fervor; Hollis whines. Hollis’ reaction makes me wonder … is this whine a “I want to eat this mini-Mercedes” or is this whine a “I want to herd this mini-Mercedes” or is this whine a “I love my new mini-Mercedes.”  I just don’t know yet.

Can’t we all just get along? 

I have a dream that one day, tabby cats and cute dogs will join hands in the old pet spiritual … Feed our ass. Feed our ass. Please mommy or daddy, feed our ass!                                                                                 -Will Graves

  1. #1 by Husbanks on January 24, 2008 - 2:26 pm

    Will – that is either the funniest or most inappropriate thing I have ever witnessed.

  2. #2 by Will on January 26, 2008 - 7:59 am

    I like to think it’s a little bit of both. Thanks for the shout-out Hil!

  3. #3 by Ellie on January 26, 2008 - 8:16 am

    Baby animals are so much fun…Enjoy the “kitten” era, Hil. They grow up so fast. Willow’s already 9 months old and though she still looks tiny compared to the other three “husky” cats, I find myself reminiscing about the first few weeks when she was so little that we had to help her go to the bathroom. I’m happy that Martin came potty trained to you, because while it’s a cute memory to get nostalgic over, it sure was weird to have to rub her tummy, crossing my fingers and praying for some action to happen.

  4. #4 by slogerot on January 27, 2008 - 10:26 pm

    I remember when Atticus could fit in my hand. Now he’s 12 pounds of fur and flab. Take lots of pics of the kitty stage! Yours is so cute I just want to squeeze him.

Leave a Reply

