Fifty cents!

On Sunday night, I was at the grocery store (not Whole Foods) getting my required back-up supply of Kraft Spiral Mac and Cheese.  I like my occasional trips to the other grocer in town because I can pick up those things I don’t trust to be made of “natural” ingredients. Like toothbrushes.  Spiral Mac and Cheese.  Condoms.  And Velveeta.

Well, I am so glad I went on Sunday because I witnessed a very funny grocery store occurrence.

Over the intercom: Attention shoppers.  All candy canes now 50 cents.  We are referring to all of the candy canes.  Come now to the holiday isle and grab a banana box.  Fill the banana box with candy canes and pay only 50 cents.

No one ran over there – everyone just hunched over laughing.  It was HILARIOUS.  What would you do with an entire banana box full of candy canes?

  1. #1 by Weslie on January 17, 2008 - 12:47 pm

    What’s a banana box? Like a literal box that bananas come in? With Dole on them?

  2. #2 by Will on January 17, 2008 - 1:06 pm

    Hey Hil, I think you’re supposed to say it like this: fiddy cent. The canes were fiddy cent, fo’ sho!

  3. #3 by hilstreet on January 17, 2008 - 2:18 pm

    Weslie – Yes! A box that big filled with candy canes! Only “fiddy cent” for all those candy canes!

  4. #4 by b on January 17, 2008 - 2:37 pm

    what’s wrong with the Whole Foods 365 Everyday Value All-Natural Organic-Fed Free-Range Sheepgut Condoms?!?!

  5. #5 by Husbanks on January 18, 2008 - 10:05 am

    b – I’m allergic to sheep skin.

Leave a Reply

