Hil Street Book Review: The Abstinence Teacher!

abstinence_teacher_jacket.jpg

Over my Christmas break from work (and blogging), I read The Abstinence Teacher by Tom Perotta.  Based on a raving review from Marie Claire, I was suckered into purchasing the hard-cover (soon to be eliminated by the Kindle). 

The premise (no spoilers, I promise) is about the opposite priorities and lives between an evangelical man and a female sex-ed teacher.  While I did complain about how this book was “too generalizing,” “over-the-top” and “not representing the moderates” I hate to admit I couldn’t put it down.  Tom Perotta can tell a story – even if it’s a story you don’t agree with.

This post is dedicated to Tiffany whose New Year’s Resolution is to read!  Her first book of the year is Marley and Me.    

  1. #1 by Anonymous on January 9, 2008 - 9:23 am

    Oh that books does sound interesting! I’ll have to add that to my list after the other ones you have been suggesting. Im going to be a reading fool in NO time!

    And to all of Hil Street readers – you should totally check out Marley and Me! =)

    Thanks for the shoutout Hil!

  2. #2 by Book Reader on January 9, 2008 - 3:13 pm

    What an interesting story line. Even if it is “over the top” sounds like a great Sunday night read.

  3. #3 by Weslie on January 9, 2008 - 4:45 pm

    I, too, have devoted myself once again to reading. This time I’m getting serious. Right now I’m reading, “The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao.” http://www.amazon.com/Brief-Wondrous-Life-Oscar-Wao/dp/1594489580.
    I might have to check out “The Abstinence Teacher.” Oooh, oooh, Hil Street Book Club!!

  4. #4 by Suz on January 9, 2008 - 5:30 pm

    I just read a great book – Hannah’s Daughters. I’m actually lending to a friend at work – we have our own 2 person book club. Currently reading Essays of EB White – he reminds me of an old fashioned Bill Bryson. So far, so great!

  5. #5 by hilstreet on January 9, 2008 - 7:51 pm

    Woah Weslie – you are getting serious – QUICK! I’m reading Eat, Pray, Love. Easy cheesy.

Leave a Reply

