Hil Street Dog Walk!

One thing I will miss about walking Hollis is meeting people in the neighborhood.   When I run, I am focused.  A speeding bullet does not have time to chat (that is so funny I just fell out of my chair.  I am a slow runner).

I was walking Hollis Saturday and I ran into some boys (circa 3rd grade) playing football in the street.  They immediately flocked to Hollis and his infinite cuteness.  Then, they proceeded to tell me some stories worth sharing.  The true 3rd-grade-boy feeling of this story is lost by typing it, so try, if you can, to imagine most of these exciting comments occurring simultaneously.

Boy 1: “My dog … my dog … when I like stomp my foot he runs really fast and if we see a rat he will catch it.” (Editor’s note: I did not know there were rats in the ‘hood – maybe Mercedes has been keeping them at bay?) Boy 2: My Jack-Russell Terrier once ate an apple pie … an apple pie in my kitchen … my kitchen has an island in it and that’s where the pie was and he jumped and ate it.

Boy 3: Your mom got rid of that dog.

Boy 2: Yeah, she got rid of him.Boy 1: Let me show you my scars.

Boy 3: Don’t show her that! Boy 2: You should go to the elementary school when we walk home from school because there is someone who walks a dog and their dog is like one week younger than your dog. (Editor’s note: Smart kid with the instant age analysis!  He should be a vet.) 

Boy 3: We have a wolf.  My wolf will sit on his hind legs and hug me.  (Editor’s note: Wolves AND rats are running around this joint?  Why is my property value going up?)Boy 4: Yeah, you need to come to school when we walk home because you have the cutest dog in the world and I want to show them.  (Editor’s note: Cutest dog in the world?  Clearly this kid is my favorite)

Boy 1: So this scar is from … Boy 3: No.  Stop.

I wonder who won their football game. J

  1. #1 by Husbanks on November 13, 2007 - 3:40 pm

    I can’t tell you how many conversations I had that were just like that. There’s just so much cool stuff flying aournd in your head when you are that age; it’s hard to get it all organized before it comes out.

  2. #2 by Weslie on November 13, 2007 - 6:16 pm

    I love the little boy who knew it was inappropriate to show you his scars. So cute.

  3. #3 by Ellie on November 13, 2007 - 8:47 pm

    I love the kid with a wolf! I wonder if the other kid’s scars were from his friend’s pet wolf…

  4. #4 by b on November 13, 2007 - 11:15 pm

    hilarious

    We took Chase to homecoming. At the bonfire he got a lot of comments, but there was one thing strange. I was talking to some people and I hear some people behind me, so I turn around – a group of kids is taking a picture of Chase! Random!

  5. #5 by hilstreet on November 14, 2007 - 12:25 am

    That is so funny, Bryan! He’s a celebrity!

  6. #6 by Linda on February 13, 2008 - 4:43 pm

    Great read. Funny kids…

  1. The Year of our Lord, 2007 « The Hil Street Journal

Leave a Reply

