Hil Street Review! – Beer! EDITED!

I am a German woman and I like beer.

Ryan picked up a six pack of the Shiner Bohemian Black Lager and it is delicious! I am enjoying it much more than the Shiner ’98 (Hil Street originally reported that she enjoyed it more than the ’97.  Hil Street regrets this error.) 

For you Hil Street readers not from around these parts, the Spoetzl Brewery is in Shiner, Texas.  They make several tasty brews, most notably Shiner Bock but the also famed Shiner Blonde(Hil Street fave) and Shiner Hefeweizen

Counting down to their 100-year anniversary in 2009, Shiner is presenting a special beer each year (hence the previous reference to ’98).   

Click at the bottom of this “about our brewery” pageto find Shiner distributers in your area.

  1. #1 by Mike Trimbenedetto on November 12, 2007 - 3:19 pm

    Dear Hilstreet Editor,

    I would like to point out an editorial error in the above post – Shiner Bohemian Black Lager is Shiner 97 – the one you don’t like is Shiner 98… I really like both, but I have to give the upper hand to Shiner ’98 which is a Bavarian Amber Ale – YUM!

  2. #2 by Husbanks on November 12, 2007 - 4:06 pm

    I just hope they keep the Black Lager around. Shiner has a way of adding a little subtleness to a beer that makes me smile. Being moderate and all, I don’t appreciate a beer that is too “in your face.”

  3. #3 by Ward on November 12, 2007 - 6:19 pm

    Finding this on the grocery store shelf was the single most exciting thing to happen to me this week. And many exciting things happened this week.

    I loved Shiner 97 (my favorite of the three special edition beers) and am so happy it’s back. Although I’ve seen claims that the recipe has been changed somewhat, but having finished off my last bottle of 97 a couple months back, I have no way of testing this…

    P.S. Hi!

  4. #4 by hilstreet on November 12, 2007 - 8:41 pm

    Mike – I made the correction – thank you! 🙂

    MATT! HI!!! Give me some music tips!

  5. #5 by Ward on November 15, 2007 - 6:02 pm

    Tops of the year so far are the new Okkervil River, Radiohead, Arcade Fire, National, Modest Mouse, Spoon, and Voxtrot, LCD Soundsystem, Art Brut, and Panda Bear. All lovely albums. Not much in the way of new bands this year although the National and Panda Bear were new to me. Here’s my best of for last year, if your comments will let me post links.

    Let me know if you find anything you like!

  6. #6 by Ward on November 15, 2007 - 6:03 pm

    Well, I don’t think that worked. Let’s try this:

    http://blog.rmward.com/2007/06/best-music-of-2006.html

  1. 90 miles? « The Hil Street Journal

Leave a Reply

