Carbon Footprint!

My car has been in the shop for almost a week.  I’m relying on carpooling with Ryan and Morgan and running home after work (physically – I put on my running shoes and run home). 

My social life has consisted of hanging out with my neighbors because, hey, I can get there without assistance.

Sunday, Ryan commented, “riding together everywhere has been fun!”  It has.  We’ve spent lots of time together, and he’s a better driver than I am, so everyone is happier and safer.This whole experience made me think about my carbon footprint.  I  live one mile from my office.  So I took a quiz online to check out my carbon footprint thinking I’d ace the test – but my final score wasn’t stellar! 

If you want a wake-up call, go to myfootprint.org and take the carbon-footprint quiz.  Then get on a bus or train and stop using your car. Then move into a commune.  A commune with solar panels.

Love mother earth!

-Hil

P.S. Found out about this quiz in Marie Claire.  My love affair with the magazine continues!

  1. #1 by b on October 29, 2007 - 6:31 pm

    Don’t think not using my car is really an option. My school is in Richardson, and Lisa goes back and forth between offices in Ft Worth and South Dallas every day…

  2. #2 by Ellie on October 29, 2007 - 9:29 pm

    I’m horrified by my carbon footprint. 😦 I recycle, though, at work and at home (I’m in charge of our office recycling program at both malls!!!) and that wasn’t asked on the quiz. ??? Why not?

Leave a Reply

