Mom’s meaty meatloaf!

I’m from Oklahoma.  My mother is originally from Wisconsin, so the Oklahoma summers are a little warm for her.  Growing up, my mother unofficially had a rule for the family: we don’t bake when the temperature outside is over 50 degrees.

Made sense to her.  Why fight the elements?  The oven can help heat the house – why turn it on when you are trying to cool the house?  Every summer we ate endless chilled salads: macaroni salad, crab salad, potato salad … etc.  Anything to get away from that oven.

So when the autumn winds came sweeping down the plains, let me tell you I was excited.  The family meatloaf was on the family menu again! 

This meatloaf recipe is so good.  Perfect spices and crispy on the edges.  Sorry, but it’s a secret.  I have a Xerox copy of the piece of paper my grandmother wrote it on.  Good stuff!

It’s hard not to use the oven in Texas because, well … it’s usually hot.  But tonight’s low is 46 here in Austin.  So I am continuing in the family tradition – I’m making the meatloaf tonight.  I can’t wait to smell it!  Every year the aroma from the oven brings back memories of the year before.

Enjoy your fall traditions!

  1. #1 by b on October 26, 2007 - 7:36 pm

    I generally don’t like meatloaf, but here’s the recipe I’ve found for it that I do like (from my fav show on Food Network):

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,1977,FOOD_9936_10215,00.html

  2. #2 by Weslie on October 30, 2007 - 3:18 am

    Thanks B! I just put Alton’s meatloaf in the oven. Excellent suggestion! We have an online grocery service drop orders off at work now, I may never have to go to the store again. Every morning I get in, go to epicurious and then to Amazon fresh! Dinner is DONE!

Leave a Reply

