An open letter to e-mail forwards!

I have a problem with some of you, e-mail forwards.  I don’t do a lot of forwarding.  If I receive something funny or inspiring via e-mail, I usually post on my blog or forward to my close friends J.

But this is a very, very strict filter.  

When it comes to you, e-mail forwards, I don’t mind when my friends send you – I like knowing what my friends stand for.  I just don’t like your ultimatums: “If you love Jesus, forward.  If you don’t forward, you clearly don’t love Jesus.” Or “If you want to see a cure for cancer, forward this 160 KB picture of an angel flapping its wings.  If you want people to die, you will hit delete.”

Simply not true.  I love Jesus, and I love people – but I also love my friends and respect their productivity.  I do not want to slow anyone’s computer down! 

Today I got an e-mail forward that stated – twice –  “If you believe in God, you will forward this.  If you don’t believe in God, fine, just delete it.”

Fine, just delete it?”  You have attitude with me, e-mail forward? 

I also get angry when you, e-mail forward, promise good luck and share a case study about such luck.  “Lucy received this sparkling lucky shamrock e-mail and forwarded to ten people.  The next day she found $700 which was an answer to prayers because she was about to be evicted.  Sandy didn’t forward this e-mail and got in a car accident.”

Really? … REALLY?

I was not alive during biblical times, but I don’t really think that Jesus would care if I forwarded you, e-mail forwards.  I usually don’t forward you because you are written with colorful font, large images and bad grammar that embarrass me, NOT because I don’t care about humanitarian or religious causes. 

So, e-mail forwards, for the record … I want peace on earth, I love my neighbor, Jesus is the rock on which I stand … but I won’t be forwarding you any time soon.

Love, Hil

  1. #1 by Weslie on October 25, 2007 - 6:15 pm

    I have to admit, the bad grammar earns the ol’ delete key every time. Your != You’re, DAMMIT!

  2. #2 by b on October 25, 2007 - 6:51 pm

    So which e-mail address do you want me to send all these forwards to again?

  3. #3 by hilstreet on October 25, 2007 - 7:18 pm

  4. #4 by Husbanks on October 25, 2007 - 9:35 pm

    Ha! Weslie, look at you with YOUR !=. Until a few weeks ago, I would have thought that meant “Really Equals”. Actually, that might be cooler. !=!

    Me? I love the email forwards.

    BTW…if you accept one of those new, dollar coins, you are a bad person…unless you comment on my blog comment. Then, you are a good person.

  5. #5 by Suzie on October 26, 2007 - 3:42 am

    A conundrum…I’ve accepted dollar coins as change but this is a comment on Ryan’s comment, thus negating my bad personosity. Am I now Switzerland?

  6. #6 by hilstreet on October 26, 2007 - 6:35 pm

    Swiss Suzie – has a nice ring to it!

  7. #7 by Brendan on March 16, 2008 - 7:55 pm

    I agree whole heatedly with your open E-mail. For all those experiencing this problem try Google Mail. They have the best filtering of any e-mail I’ve ever tried.

  1. The Year of our Lord, 2007 « The Hil Street Journal

Leave a Reply

